Offers Invited At $ 949,000.00
Classic Ontario Stone Home
On the outside !!
You’ll love coming home to this classic home – or using it as a weekend retreat from the Big City. It has a rich history and wonderful recent past.
The Recent Past
This home has been completely and professionally renovated. In fact “renovation” does not adequately describe the scope of work undertaken to bring this treasure back to life. The home was gutted and rebuilt from the ground up. Complete new systems, wiring, plumbing and heating … | Windows and fixtures were changed and the structure was modified to create a flow that is comfortable in 2020. All the while taking great pains to honour, respect and enhance the 150 years of living the home has already provided.
This South Bruce property is located just 1 mile outside of the charming village of Neustadt and is centrally located between Hanover, Walkerton, and Mildmay. Bruce Power is less than an hour away. The property which consists of a home, barn and shed are being severed off of a larger farm. The property size is to be approximately 5-6 acres. Municipal Taxes and Assessment to be established upon severance of the property being sold.
There is a large Bank barn, and shed that could easily be turned into a shop, or removed if required and a productive well maintained apple orchard. The Septic was replaced in 2012, the Well is 65 ‘ deep, the Furnace and Water Heater were both updated in 2016
Annual Utilities: heating $1500, Hydro $1500. (approximate)
A Look At The Past
Elizabeth Klages-Gebhardt, and her 2 brothers Gottlieb Klages and Casper Klages emigrated from Germany and divided the 200 acres of lots 31 & 32 into 3 parcels. Gottlieb, a woodsman in Germany, took the middle lot as Carrick creek at this location made a natural dam. He used water wheel to power a custom sawmill business. Casper, an established stone mason, built his stone house on lot 31 with much attention being paid to accuracy. Casper also paid fine attention to details as the corners and window arches are done with white limestone and the field is done in split granite, using the stones natural colours to create accents.
Reference: The Mildmay-Carrick Historical Society. (1989). Historical Walks Through Carrick and Mildmay. Owen Sound, Ontario: Stan Brown Printers Limited.
Journey of Ownership of Lot 31 Concession 10, Carrick Township
The patent was received from the Crown on April 24, 1868 by Gottlieb Klages. In December of 1868, a bylaw was passed to establish a public highway through part of the lot. In January of 1870, a 10 acre parcel was sold by Gottlieb to Fred Evers. In February of 1870 Gottlieb Klages sold 50 acres to his brother Casper Klages. Casper, a stone mason by trade, built the stone houses on both lot 31 & 32 of concession 10. On Dec 26, 1877, Casper Klages sold 1/4 acre for S.S. No. 5 Carrick School (mosquito school). In May of 1888 Casper sold the 50 acres to Henry Ruhl. In March of 1907 Henry Ruhl sold the 58 acres to Joseph Young. Then in March of 1909, Joseph Young sold the 58 acres Frederick Goll. In February of 1924 Frederick Goll sold the property to Andrew Gebhardt. In 1957, Andrew sold the farm to his son Albert and Donna Gebhardt. Reference: The Mildmay-Carrick Historical Society. (1989). Historical Walks Through Carrick and Mildmay. Owen Sound, Ontario: Stan Brown Printers Limited.
Charles and Laura Ireland purchased the property around 2010. Joe and Kristina Kraemer purchased the property in 2014